I have always wondered how to make sense out of life. I have made errors, minimal and significant. However, one thing I try to do is learn from everything, become a better person to myself and those I hold dear. I am not the man I set out to be by twenty-five years of age – a quarter of a century gone in my existence – but I certainly am progressing daily. Not the same person today as I was yesterday. Thoughts of achievements and missed chances circled my head severally before my decision to let the ink flow, share from my insight or outlook or whatever it’s called. Below are a few things I wish I knew before I turned twenty-five. Perhaps my life would’ve been much easier, one never can tell:

PEOPLE ARE IMPORTANT, PEOPLE ARE VERY IMPORTANT, APPRECIATE THEM
There’s the popular saying that no man is an island. I know this to be true. There have been times I’ve decided just to switch everyone off, to stop caring about anyone and face my life alone, but I’ve come to realize that just as there is undeniable evil in the world, there is also so much good and it comes when one has the right connections. The people I’ve been fortunate to have been surrounded with have lifted me, supported me, counseled me and made my life worth living even in my darkest moments.

YOUR LIFE WILL ALWAYS BE INTERFERED WITH, IT’S ONLY NORMAL
It baffles me when people make remarks such as “I don’t like people treating me the way I don’t treat them’ and they get all emotional EVERYTIME they experience the sort of treatment they say they won’t afford another. The truth is if we all acted the same way, life will be boring. It is necessary to be ready to experience different attitudes from different people and tailor our lives likewise, else one would just end up being very miserable unnecessarily. Expect people to want to make decisions for you, expect them to hurt you, expect them to love you, expect them to criticize you. It is left to you to decide how much influence you give them and how their actions and reactions affect you.

ALWAYS BE PREPARED FOR DIFFERENT SCENARIOS
I personally consider it absolute folly not to make considerations of things turning out a bit differently from how you want them to or how you expect them to. While it is necessary to have a positive attitude, a hopeful nature, it is doubly important to have backup plans, to prepare for situations that are less than palatable, to construct worst-case scenarios in your mind’s eye so as not to be overly shaken in the case that sudden aberrations occur in your normally planned out life.

ALWAYS KEEP AN OPEN MIND.
The people who experience no miracles, who encounter no surprises are the ones who have a fixed mind on any and everything, they are the ones who are extremely calculative and do not expect shifts from the normal way they see things. You will discover that you get more from people you least expect from, that you’d get more from situations that before seemed straightforward when you learn to give the benefit of a doubt, when you learn to give everything and everyone a chance. Some people have mindsets against people such that they never even get close to them talk less of allowing their lives to rub off on each other.

YOUR VALUES GO A LONG WAY IN DETERMINING YOUR LIFE.
Perhaps I shouldn’t have said “a long way.” Maybe I should say the values you have determines everything about you most especially because it will influence the kinds of goals you have, the friends you surround yourself with, the level of compromise you give in situations, your mien and attitude in general. Your values will determine whether you respond or react to wrongs and challenges, they will determine your distinction of good and evil and the impact you have in the lives of those around you. Values will determine how people see you and what they should expect of you. It will determine what they suggest to you and what they simply take past you. In essence, a well defined value system ensures that instances of complications in your relationships are reduced to the very barest minimum.

THINGS CHANGE, PEOPLE CHANGE, DEAL WITH IT!
If everything remained the same, there won’t be a need for work, there won’t be a need for education, there won’t be anything like relationships. The fact that the winds of change blow often ensures that things get better or worse, the fact that people change ensures that we have to get better on all fronts so as not to remain stagnant in life. So don’t let the differences you see all around everyday affect you, let them challenge you, spur you on to greater things. Embrace the transformation around you and take proactive steps to fit seamlessly into the inevitable alterations. Believe me, you’d love yourself for it and people will appreciate you for your unprejudiced approach to life.

YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO BE THE BEST YOU CAN BE
History is littered with those who have excelled in their chosen fields. The future still will be cluttered with those who against all odds ensure they come out on top of their less-than-perfect situations. The ‘now’ is ours for the taking, hence, it is necessary with all we have to make the most of it, to utilize our strengths and skills in the best way possible, to be proactive, to carve out the future we want, to take time by the horns, to strive with no one but ourselves to ensure we are better than we were yesterday. The future is jumbled with endless possibilities, our self-belief and motivation are the things that would have made our lives satisfactory when finally we come to the end.

Before we know it, time passes us by and life is snuffed out of our bodies. It is necessary to learn lessons as we go along so as to make our lives worth living. The future is not set, we are what we make of it. Live as best as you can and live a life that’ll be worthy of adulation.

Cheers!

OREOLUWA ABOLUWARIN

About oreoluwade

At the peak of the pyramid of knowledge, the truth is always superimposed. In essence, if you seek the truth, follow knowledge to wherever it leads

4 responses »

  1. Jumoke says:

    Yay! He’s backkkkk!!!! Great piece…although i think people should learn to restrain themselves n mind their business tho…interference always come with undue pressure.lol…Very great piece….me likey

  2. dipokelani says:

    Great piece! Reflects everything that can go right though with a little bit of caution!

  3. dami says:

    :p
    Nice one!

  4. Oluwayomi says:

    Wonderful and heart-touching piece!
    Perfectly articulated piece!
    A deep all-in-all reflective piece!
    An ideal reflection of my being!
    Thanks for the heart-warming message!
    God bless you!

Leave a Reply

